The Brides Attire

It’s one of those moments we girls dream of from a young age – getting to try on those pretty white dresses and pick out the one. And now it’s your turn. There are lots of great bridal boutiques out there and there is bound to be one near you (unless of course you’re reading this from anywhere in Alaska… then you’re pickin’s are slim). Here in Anchorage, there is a dress shop called Anderson’s Bride, and the service there is wonderful and the gowns are always beautiful. One of my girlfriends who was married the year before I was got her dress there and I had the privilege to travel up here to Anchorage with her to enjoy the experience. I myself, however, did not go there… I went with David’s Bridal.

You should pick out and order your dress at least 6 months in advance of the wedding, to allow time for shipping, any mishaps (Lord forbid), and alterations. I highly, highly recommend David’s Bridal, wherever you may be, for all your wedding apparel and accessory needs. You can sign up on their website and save dresses, shoes, veils, headpieces, accessories, bridesmaids dresses, and everything to your favorites. They also send you monthly emails with tips, advice, and a cute countdown, too. Then when you go in for your first appointment, you can print off your favorites sheet and bring it with you.

David’s Bridal also gives you all sorts of benefits just for buying your dress from them. You get a book of coupons, discounts on shoes and dresses for the bridesmaids and mother of the bride/groom, and save on your headpiece and veil. You also get a deal on tuxedo rentals from Men’s Warehouse and their colors are the same as David’s. David’s bridal has 44 colors to choose from, and bridesmaids dresses, shoes, and sashes in almost all of them.

My consultant brought me every dress I asked for, some I wouldn’t have thought of, and helped me pick out a  tiara and veil to match the dress I chose. Even after my first appointment she continued to check in on me, and whenever I went in for something else she was always there talking to me, joking with me, and again checking on me.

If you choose David’s for your wedding dress or at least your bridesmaids dresses, definitely purchase the color swatch cards they have. They’re $1.00 each and you can carry them in your wedding planner and it will really help you pick out decorations, accents, and flowers.

Any bridal consultant will be able to help you further, but this is my advice, from a bride who’s been there done that. You will be absolutely beautiful no matter what accessories or dress you choose.  But don’t over-do it, and try not to lose sight of what your wedding represents. You are being united in marriage to your husband, and he will love you no matter what dress you wear or how many accessories you choose. Do not become vain or lost in it all, and trust the Lord to help you make your decisions.

One last thing. Be sure to bring people with you; your mother, bridesmaids, maybe sisters if you have them. Since I was living in Anchorage, only one friend was able to go with me, and my mother couldn’t make the trip. It made my decision harder.

Me in my gown, minutes before walking down the aisle. I wore an Oleg Cassini gown from David’s Bridal.

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” (1 Peter 3:3-4 NIV84)

Leave a Reply

